ODBC Drivers + No Shortcut Apps

Brass Contributor

Hi All,

I am new to MSIX, Could you please provide some information for the below points.

1. Is it possible to create MSIX package with the installer having ODBC Drivers with out any Shortcuts/EntryPoints?

2. How to Handle User settings/Configurations which stores in AppData or in HKCU

3. Can anyone provide the user guidance or any demo/links to use PsfTooling 4.8?

Thanks in Advance.

Thanks & Regards,

Siva

2 Replies

@Siva116 

Starting off with the easy stuff:

You can create a package without any shortcuts.  Your "ODBC Driver" consists of registry settings, plus optionally something like an oracle client that acts as middleware.  The question is how to tie that to the primary app that will use it?  Assuming that the primary app is also MSIX:

• Under the currently released OS's, your only choice is to create your driver package as a "Modification Package", which in essence is a layered add-on to the primary package.  This is a great use when you have a primary package that must work with several back-ends (such as dev/test/prod) and you deploy the primary app plus the modification package with settings that you need.
  • In 21H2 we expect to see (it is available in preview versions) "Shared Package Containers".  This would allow a different workflow for creating your settings package, potentially allowing more flexibility (such as applying these settings to multiple main packages).

But ultimately, it would be best to have A package contain a shortcut, even if it uses a natively installed app under the covers. 

There are some other obscure options involving the Powershell cmdlet to start a native process in a container, but those only work on 20H2 and above and are a kludge at best and should be avoided.