SOLVED

MSIX states the package is installed even when it has been uninstalled.

Copper Contributor

Hi All,

I am new to this.

I have packaged an exe program of mine and during the creation you need to run it so that the MSIX can capture what is needed. This all works fine and the file is created.

Then I tried uninstalling the program from Add/remove programs which also worked fine. 

Then I tried to install it using the MSIX file that was created and it gives a message that the file is already installed and the only option is to close.

Am I misunderstanding the purpose of this file or is there something wrong with this behaviour of MSIX installation Package?

One other thing is that when I converted an EXE file to MSIX it only created a very small file which appears to be the instructions without the program files. Is this normal and if so how do you distribute the installation if the program file are not in the installation package. When I converted an MSI file to MSIX it contains the full file with the program or so it appears as the file is a similar size of the file that was converted. This is what I was hoping for with the EXE conversion as well.

Any help will be appreciated.

Kind regards

Annesly

4 Replies

The MSIX package is replacing your application installer not the main executable it self. 

Packaging tool captures the files that are being laid down with the msi installer during conversion. Your main exe is not installing the application binaries so what you are seeing is by design. 

If your installer is a setup.exe that should still work, but if the app does not have an installer, you can manually package the app by not passing an installer in select installer page, and mimic the installer during the installation step by manually copying the main executable and other required binaries to the installation folder as well as make the required registry key edits.

Hope that helps!

-Peyman

Hi Peyman,

Thanks for the response.