MSIX Shared Package Container for normal user

Iron Contributor

As an administrator i tested the following which does work:

1 have an AppX package installed with PackageFamilyName

2 have an MSIX package installed with PackageFamilyName

3 Created an SPC and put in both PackageFamilyNames and add to system

After starting the AppX application i see the MSIX content is mergend an can be used in the AppX.
But above is for Administrator working...but how about a normal, non-admin user?

For a non-admin user actions 1 and 2 are working, but option 3 is not working since you require administrative rights.

Anymone who can replay and tell me how I can get a SPC work for a non-admin user?
Or is that not possible and Microsoft assumes everyone is Administrator?

12 Replies
Created a case for it. Seems like add-provisionedsharedpackagecontainer is a solution here.
But no detailed info is available for it at Microsoft.

Will update this thread when i have some news
I have an update...

add-provisionedsharedpackagecontainer is available in Powershell, but there is no documentation yet for it and can't be used according to Microsoft.

The Shared Package Container (SPC) can only be used for ADMINS !!!
The SPC can't be used for normal users and make it worthless for us and for all people i guess.

Microsoft still has some progress to made with MSIX to make us able to transfer our AppV packages to MSIX packages.
"The Shared Package Container (SPC) can only be used for ADMINS !!!
The SPC can't be used for normal users and make it worthless for us and for all people i guess."

I can't believe that I never noticed this. I thought that the requirement for Win11 was blocking enough, but it can't be used by standard users, WTF???

Yes WTF.
Shortly we will have a discussion with the product group. Let’s see what they think about that and when we can expect to be able to use it for ALL users.