SOLVED

Create MSIX Package in Release Pipeline!

Copper Contributor

Hello,

I'm new to UWP development and CI/CD pipeline. I'm trying to create MSIX using UWP project.

Below are the scenarios where things work and what I'm looking for.

1. I'm able to generate MSIX package through VS2019 .(Publish->Installed->Wworking)

2. I'm able to generate MSIX package in Azure Build Pipeline using VSBuild@1 task and its arguments.(Installed and Working).

3. Requirement: I'm trying to generate MSIX package in release pipeline through build output(Artifacts) with different env configs. Reason to do that is to generate MSIX to have env specific configurations(dev/qa/prod). As per Azure MSIX packaging tool, I unable to select Project to Build and Manifest File to Update Version .appxmanifest file from build output directory $(Build.ArtifactStagingDirectory. Because it contains only output dlls.

Am I doing this in wrong way? Can you please suggest me the better way to generate MSIX that points to specific env in different stages of release pipeline.

Thank you,

Shub

11 Replies

Hi @s_salaria ,

How do specify the env specific configurations for your packages? E.g. whether you modify the manifests, or add a flag when compiling, or something else. Knowing that could help us find a way to do what you need.

If you use the MSIXPackaging task, you will want to point either

• To the .sln file and .appxmanifest in your sources directory $(Build.SourcesDirectory), to compile into DLLs/EXEs and then create an MSIX (so you skip the VSBuild step); or
  • To a directory with your already compiled DLLs/EXEs and an AppxManifest.xml, to create the MSIX from that without compiling. This could be in your $(Build.BinariesDirectory) if you pointed the VSBuild step to place the files there.

I know that doesn't answer your question, but hopefully helps to move in the right direction.

Thank you @Chacon,