SOLVED

Entry point not found while creating msix package using MSIX Packaging tool

Copper Contributor

Hello,

I am a beginner and I am trying to use MSIX Packagin tool. So I started with creating a msix package for 7zip. I downloaded the exe from https://www.7-zip.org/download.html, and specified the location in select installer. I am using self-signed certificate. When the installation completes, it moves to First Launch tasks step and there it does not show any entry point for the specified installer. When I try to browser dialog displays message - we did not detect any new entry points. Run your installer and try again. If I continue to creating package, generated MSIX package is only 19KB in size.

Why entry point is not showing?

Thanks in advance,

5 Replies

@krathore you can specify the entry point in the appxmanifest.xml file and invoke the tool like

makeappx.exe pack /v /o /f mapping.map /m Appxmanifest.xml /p ./abc.msix

@Sigmarssonthanks for your reply. To use makeappx.exe tool I would need to create AppxManifest.xml file. So I tried following this link https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/msix/desktop/desktop-to-uwp-manual-conversion to create xml file. So before packaging I tried to test the application. I ran the add-appxpackage command but its giving following error:

PS C:\WINDOWS\system32> Add-AppxPackage -Register E:\AppxManifest.xml
Add-AppxPackage : Deployment failed with HRESULT: 0x80080204, The Appx package's manifest is invalid.
error 0xC00CE169: App manifest validation error: The app manifest must be valid as per schema: Line 22, Column 48,
Reason: '' violates minLength constraint of '1'.
The attribute 'Description' with value '' failed to parse.
NOTE: For additional information, look for [ActivityId] 7ad871fd-5a89-0004-4e50-d97a895ad601 in the Event Log or use
the command line Get-AppPackageLog -ActivityID 7ad871fd-5a89-0004-4e50-d97a895ad601
At line:1 char:1
+ Add-AppxPackage -Register E:\AppxManifest.xml