SOLVED

What is the Personal organization?

Iron Contributor

I got the email a couple days ago, from Microsoft, announcing that there is a new "Microsoft Teams for personal life". I've been using Microsoft Teams preview/beta for a couple years now. Both on my Windows desktop and on my Android phone. In the case of my Windows 10 desktop I created an organization, then had all of my family members join in. However, for my phone I basically just had it point to the Teams organization I have at work. I did also join the organization that I created a couple years ago, for Teams on my phone.

But today, when I checked out Teams on my phone, I had to log in again. My guess is that the MS Teams app on my phone was updated to this "Microsoft Teams for personal life". After I logged in again, it showed me my organization at work, the organization I created a couple years ago, and finally an organization called simply "Personal". What is this "Personal" organization? How is it meant to be used?

3 Replies
best response confirmed by ThereseSolimeno (Microsoft)
Solution

All  I can say is to be careful and I hope you didn't delete that original mail notification about the Free Org you created.

I had a heck of a time getting back into my Free Org that I had been using since the release.

The New Private Team acts like a completely different org and does not have the same features.

After several attempts at clearing the app cache on my Android I was able to use the link in the original Welcome e-mail to get back to my Free Org. I now have 2 orgs associated to my Teams app on my phone.  I can switch orgs to see the features in each one but it took several hours to figure out what was going on.  I thought I had lost all of my RSS Feeds and Bots I had set up in the First Free Org.