SOLVED

What can I auto record?

Copper Contributor
Hi all,

I need to enable automatic recording for all Teams call and meetings, is this possible? I have seen conflicting info on the recording of calls/meetings/events.

I just need it all recording.

Any tips would be great, thanks.
8 Replies

@Matt Cox Hi, I believe you're talking about this? Introduction to Teams Policy-based Recording for Calling & Meetings - Microsoft Teams | Microsoft Do... but I have no experience from it.

Thanks @ChristianBergstrom 

I have had a read and it appears to be saying I cannot enable mandatory recording at a tenant level for all users without the use of an external recording bot.  Can anyone confirm I am correct on this?

It seems strange that the button to record calls and meetings is available for the end user but cant b e stipulated by admin!?

@Matt Cox Hello, no worries. Let me catch up on the info for the policy-based recording and get back to this conversation when I know more about it. Could take some time though so perhaps another member with more info will reply in the meantime.

I do recall a setting for this being available as a meeting option, but can't seem to find the info now. Perhaps being withdrawn. @Steven Collier is in the know and could possibly assist with your question Matt.

best response confirmed by ThereseSolimeno (Microsoft)
Solution

@Matt Cox Hello, sorry for the late reply. It seems as if your own understanding is correct about the policy-based recording and third-party.

Can't say what happened to the info I saw before about an eventual meeting option. There's nothing in Message center and nothing in the roadmap either. Could it be a privacy thing perhaps as you at some places legally need to get everyone's permission before you can record them? But that goes for the former option as well so I haven't go a clue to be honest.