Teams - Planner Task Notification Due Date

Copper Contributor
Hello. I support multiple sales people in my role and i receive many requests/tasks through email for each person. I was able to create a flow that creates team planner tasks for me when I flag the email which is great.

I have an individual team planner already set up for each salesperson to keep their work requests separate.

But now I need help to create a notification/alert that tells the salesperson the due date I enter in planner for their request of when I'll be able to complete it. What I created in flow does send an email to them with the task title but the due date doesn't come through. Also while I am familiar with using functions I'm no expert either. I have no idea how to make it work.
7 Replies

@vperez How are you defining the due date? Planner doesn't have a default, tasks would exist without a date unless you use a formula to add one.

I assign a due date through the task. Planner allows for one to be selected.

@vperez, Flow doesn't have a dynamic field out of the box to populate an Outlook task due date as a Planner task Due date as far as I know. Do you have a fixed time-frame for due dates on tasks? For example, once flagged does every task have a due date 1 week from now? If so you could write a formula in the Flow to insert that date in dynamically with the formula below in the deadline field (this one adds 7 days from today and doesn't set a time):

formatDateTime(addDays(utcnow(),7),'yyyy-MM-dd')

If not, and you need to manually assign due dates to each task, it may be better to have another Flow running to trigger on a planner task being modified in your Plan, and if the due date is modified it then send out the notification email to your assignee's?