SOLVED

Teams guest inviter role

Brass Contributor

As a Teams admin, I'd like to allow my team owners to invite external guests to their teams provided they are authorized. I learned that Teams doesn't support guest inviter role yet. Is there any mechanism one can authorize team owners selectively to invite their guests rather than opening the floodgates to all team members?

5 Replies
best response confirmed by adam deltinger (MVP)
Solution
Hi @eynarain,

Hmm, AFAIK there isn't any easy way to do this in the Teams Admin Centre or within the Teams client. However, saying this you could test the following

1.) Private Teams should mean that only owners can add guests. I have just tested this with a colleague and a user in my private group could not invite a guest. I believe members can invite guests in Public Groups.

2.) Follow this to lock down specific Teams from inviting guests so even owners will not be permitted https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/t5/Microsoft-Teams/Allow-or-Block-Guest-Users-from-a-Specific-Te.... I believe this can also be achieved by re-configuring the Office 365 group permissions linked to the Team and switching off the Let Group Owners add people outside the organisation to groups.

Therefore you will have Teams where a.) Owners and guests and invite b.) Owners can invite and c.) No one can invite.

Please let me know how you get on. To note, the big issue here will be the visibility of all this and managing it going forward - so I would log these changes when they are done to keep track.

Hope that answers your question

Best, Chris
I guess private teams is the way to go, but that also means internal users as well! Not that bad cause now there’s going an approval to the owners of the team! This process should work the same with guests afaik!
There’s also coming settings to allow guests in certain channels only, probably in conjunction with private channels