Team Login Broken

Copper Contributor

My Microsoft account is ursus@alum.mit.edu. That "alum.mit.edu" is used for alumni EFL. They are _not_ students. I already have a Microsoft account, Office 365 subscriptions, etc., attached to my Microsoft Account (ursus@alum.mit.edu).  When I installed Teams and try top log in it does not check that I have a Microsoft account first and then it assumes I am a student and I must contact the school to get a login.  I am not a student.

8 Replies

@Stephani_Smiththe subscription you have, it is your personal or the one related to mit.edu if that is the case you would need them to assign Teams license to your account so you are able to use Teams.

if that is not true then you should use your account that is associated with your subscription if that is a personal subscription also you should be able to use your own domain besides the one with mit.edu

@PDostiyar   That is what I am saying.  My personal email address is ursus@alum.mit.edu.  This is _not_ a student account and is not an MIT account.  This is my personal account created by me.   The Teams application will not allow me to login with my personal (created by me) email account.  Microsoft account login and my Office products login have no problem letting me login with my Microsoft personal account created by me (ursus@alum.mit.edu).  The Team application should use the login from the Microsoft Account.  This is a bug in Teams.

The Teams algorithm is wrong if it assumes anything "mit.edu" is a student account.  That is incorrect.   You should change the algorithm to look for "@mit.edu" as that is the student emails.  "@alum.mit.edu" are personal EFL emails that alumni may use as their personal emails and are _not_ students.  There are other cases like "@whitehead.mit.edu"  that are for the Whitehead institute - which is not the school, etc.