Once you go past 30 days, you might have a day or two afterwards before background processes permanently delete the group/team. Once it's been permanently deleted, it and all its resources (SharePoint etc.) are irrecoverable.
If we delete a channel how long before it is really deleted and can be recreated using the same name? Is this that strange thing that once a channel name has been used you can never use it again even after it's deleted.