SOLVED

Restore/Recover Deleted Team

Copper Contributor

Hello Everyone,

First time here. I am a teacher. Apparently I deleted my TEAM. Not sure how. My IT department says they can't restore it, because 'I created the TEAM myself' and added the members and it's content/pages, etc... If the system created the TEAM and then I had entered the pages/content they could restore it. So I am left to figure it out on my own or start from scratch.

When I enter into OneNote and click my list of Notebooks, the Notebook appears with it's Sharepoint location, but when you select to open it, it says '404 file not found'.

When I go through TEAMS, and select my available TEAMs it does not appear and it also does not come up when searched.

On my phone the in OneNote the Notebook is fully there, with all tabs/folders and my students from last year, but when you select anything to open, they are all blank. 

Everyone is stumped. My entire year of virtual lessons and planning is lost. Any help or suggestions would be terrific. 

Thank you,

Kevin

8 Replies

You can usually recover any team by restoring the Microsoft 365 Group that backs it. These are kept in a ‘soft deleted’ state for 30 days after which they’re permanently removed. This might require the help of an administrator though. So ask your IT department to restore the group. The group usually has the same name as the team.

Thanks Paul,
This is exactly what my admin team explained to me. However, when trying to do this, they were unable to just that. They explained that it was because I created the TEAM. I wonder if the TEAM was deleted more than 30 days ago and thus that is why they couldn't do it.
I have no idea how/when it was deleted.
I am at a loss
best response confirmed by ThereseSolimeno (Microsoft)
Solution