Forum in Microsoft Teams

Copper Contributor

As a teacher I'm interested in the possibility of using Teams as a forum for class discussions. Is there any add-on that would make this possible? If not, does anybody know whether there are any coming soon?

14 Replies

Hi Linus,

You can use the chat in the channels and you can activate Channel moderation so only moderators can start new posts, but members will be able to answer on that post. Can that help you?

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoftteams/manage-channel-moderation-in-teams

+1 to Linus reply. Teams is not a forum tool per say and it also depends on what you really need here! Just general conversations with replies to each thread, likes etc with channels for each topics or whatever works!

Adam

@Linus Cansby 

That almost solved my dilemma! I wish there was some way to list the threads (so you don't have to scroll through the chat to reach each "thread"). Is it possible to make the answers/comments on each post not show unless you click on it? If that was possible it would look much neater. 

Nope, I've wanted a way to do this myself and thought it would be a very nice experience to have Topics listed out, but the problem is you would have people not using the reply button etc. So first thing they would need to add would be forced (Required) Subject Line on every post. I wish you could do this anyway.

But 3 things Teams needs added to make this more a forum.
1. Require Subject
2. Customized View Templates, so we can make our own forum looking view.
3. A way to set the view per channel.

This would be pretty powerful to give Teams some more flexibility. And a bonus would be to be able to tag / mark as answered like Yammer. Anyway, I'm going to take this feedback with me to Summit, cause I mentioned it before in passing but I think it could be cool. Probably pipe dream stuff, but doesn't hurt to try! lol!

@Linus145 There are a couple of requests at the uservoice page about this, not many votes yet.