Email with Teams

Copper Contributor

I am new to trying to figure out the integration of teams into our environment. We rely heavily on  distribution lists. I'm personally used to shared mailboxes, but our end users are not.  How can I get emails coming into the teams address to forward out like a distribution list into the team members inbox? Thank you for your help.

12 Replies
You either use the group email that is provisioned when you create a group/team. If you created the team first this mailbox is hidden for users and needs to be unhidden via powershell. You can set that users shall subscribe (get mails to their personal inbox) too and users can do /undo this themselves.
You can also use the channel email address! If used the message ends up as a message in that Teams channel

Adam
Ideally you should get away from e-mail and use Teams for what it was meant to be used for assuming people sending to this DL are part of the Team etc. If it's outside people using the DL then I wouldn't move it away from E-mail. It all is going to depend on your audience sending to the DL that will kind of determine the setup you use.

As adam pointed out you can use the O365 group with it, it's like a DL and Shared Mailbox in one, but it's additional training and confusion to users IMO, but again depending on the situation it might be the best solution.

Could you elaborate a bit more on your use case?

@Chris Webb  It's our sales team trying to learn to use it.  They are wanting outside senders to be able to send to the inbox as well. I agree on the not using email and using Teams instead. They are interested in the collaboration options and the shared calendars, but want the email inbox to behave like a DL. 

I mean, having a message go to a channel is technically like an inbox as long as people setup notifications on that Channel, they will get notified via Activity Feed.