Date format microsoft teams

Copper Contributor

Hello everyone,

I work as an IT Support Tech in a company.

Today, a user came with a date format issue on excel but only in teams.

She tried to put a french date format in teams, but the software changed the date format all the time to put an english date.

When I opened the documents in excel in local, we could put a french format to a date.

Do you have any idea of where this issu can come from ?

Thank you in advance,

12 Replies
Hi @thomasmartinez

There is a uservoice open for this here:

https://microsoftteams.uservoice.com/forums/555103-public/suggestions/19166830-excel-dates

Would recommend you vote on it to push it up the agenda. It ought to be possible to view Teams in one language and have the date format in excel in another.

AFAIK the date format in Teams is determined by the language of the client. If you go to the menu (with the users picture) > settings > language can be changed here.

Hope that answers your question

Best, Chris

Hello @Christopher Hoard 

Thank you for your answer.

I tried myself to do the issue on team, here is the point:

- All my account settings are in French.

- I want the format date to be in French, so this format: DD-MM-YYYY

- When I write the date in the french format in teams, the soft keep change it in english format : MM-DD-YYYY

- The format date in the soft settings is in full english.

In this screenshots, I wrote the date in french format, in the cell it appears in english format. In the row "Ajout" I add 15 days at the first date, and still add it in the bad format.  

I wanted to write "06/02/2020" as 6th February 2020.

Visionneuse de fichiers XLSX  Microsoft Teams.jpg

Visionneuse de fichiers XLSX  Microsoft Teams2.jpg

Thank you in advance.

@thomasmartinez 

Christopher & Thomas,