SOLVED

Creating a Project (Planner)

%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-1582190%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ECreating%20a%20Project%20(Planner)%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-1582190%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EI%20created%20a%20new%20project%20in%20Planner%20using%20%22Use%20an%20existing%20plan%20from%20this%20team%22.%26nbsp%3B%20After%20it%20created%20the%20project%2C%20it%20named%20it%20with%20the%20same%20name%20as%20the%20original%20with%20a%20(1)%20after%20the%20name.%26nbsp%3B%20I%20renamed%20the%20project%20and%20remove%20all%20of%20the%20existing%20tasks%2C%20since%20I%20wanted%20to%20start%20clean.%26nbsp%3B%20However%2C%20it%20not%20only%20removed%20them%20from%20the%20new%20project%20but%20it%20also%20removed%20them%20from%20the%20original%20project%20I%20made%20the%20new%20one%20from.%26nbsp%3B%20I%20think%20that%20that%20behavior%20is%20amazingly%20ridiculous%2C%20however...%20My%20question%20is%3A%20is%20there%20anyway%20to%20recover%20the%20deleted%20tasks%20from%20the%20original%3F%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-LABS%20id%3D%22lingo-labs-1582190%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CLINGO-LABEL%3EPlanner%3C%2FLINGO-LABEL%3E%3C%2FLINGO-LABS%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-1582741%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Creating%20a%20Project%20(Planner)%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-1582741%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EHi!%3CBR%20%2F%3EWhen%20you%20select%20%E2%80%9Cuse%20from%20existing%E2%80%9D%20you%20just%20add%20the%20same%20plan%2C%20hence%20deleting%20something%20from%20it%20will%20delete%20it%20everywhere%20else%20that%20plan%20is%20used.%20You%20can%20create%20a%20new%20one%20(the%20other%20option)%20or%20use%20the%20copy%20plan%20feature!%20Read%20my%20blog%20post%20about%20how%20to%20do%20this%20here%3A%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fwww.avepoint.com%2Fblog%2Fmanage%2Fmicrosoft-planner-new-features%2F%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22nofollow%20noopener%20noreferrer%22%3Ehttps%3A%2F%2Fwww.avepoint.com%2Fblog%2Fmanage%2Fmicrosoft-planner-new-features%2F%3C%2FA%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3EAdam%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-1582846%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Creating%20a%20Project%20(Planner)%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-1582846%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EAdam%2C%20thanks%20for%20the%20reply.%26nbsp%3B%20I%20get%20that%20now.%26nbsp%3B%20My%20question%20is%2C%20is%20there%20anyway%20to%20recover%20the%20tasks%20that%20were%20deleted%3F%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Ftechcommunity.microsoft.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F72542%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40adam%20deltinger%3C%2FA%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-1582877%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Creating%20a%20Project%20(Planner)%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-1582877%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ESorry%2C%20missed%20that%20last%20thing%20%3A)%3C%2Fimg%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3ENo%2C%20you%20can%E2%80%99t%20unfortunately%20%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3EAdam%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-1582882%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Creating%20a%20Project%20(Planner)%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-1582882%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3ENot%20what%20I%20wanted%20to%20hear.%26nbsp%3B%20That%20is%20a%20real%20miss%20in%20design.%26nbsp%3B%20You%20do%20something%2C%20especially%20something%20like%20deleting%2C%20and%20not%20have%20a%20way%20back%20is%20a%20major%20miss.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Ftechcommunity.microsoft.com%2Ft5%2Fuser%2Fviewprofilepage%2Fuser-id%2F72542%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%3E%40adam%20deltinger%3C%2FA%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-1582911%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ERe%3A%20Creating%20a%20Project%20(Planner)%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-1582911%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3EYeah%2C%20it%E2%80%99s%20a%20missing%20feature%20for%20sure%20but%20I%E2%80%99m%20sure%20it%E2%80%99s%20coming!%20Please%20go%20vote%20here%3A%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CA%20href%3D%22https%3A%2F%2Fplanner.uservoice.com%2Fforums%2F330525-microsoft-planner-feedback-forum%2Fsuggestions%2F16060894-add-recycle-for-deleted-tasks-in-plan%22%20target%3D%22_blank%22%20rel%3D%22noopener%20noreferrer%22%3Ehttps%3A%2F%2Fplanner.uservoice.com%2Fforums%2F330525-microsoft-planner-feedback-forum%2Fsuggestions%2F16060894-add-recycle-for-deleted-tasks-in-plan%3C%2FA%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3E%3CBR%20%2F%3EAdam%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E
New Contributor

I created a new project in Planner using "Use an existing plan from this team".  After it created the project, it named it with the same name as the original with a (1) after the name.  I renamed the project and remove all of the existing tasks, since I wanted to start clean.  However, it not only removed them from the new project but it also removed them from the original project I made the new one from.  I think that that behavior is amazingly ridiculous, however... My question is: is there anyway to recover the deleted tasks from the original?

6 Replies
Hi!
When you select “use from existing” you just add the same plan, hence deleting something from it will delete it everywhere else that plan is used. You can create a new one (the other option) or use the copy plan feature! Read my blog post about how to do this here:

https://www.avepoint.com/blog/manage/microsoft-planner-new-features/

Adam

Adam, thanks for the reply.  I get that now.  My question is, is there anyway to recover the tasks that were deleted?

@adam deltinger 

Sorry, missed that last thing :)
No, you can’t unfortunately

Adam

Not what I wanted to hear.  That is a real miss in design.  You do something, especially something like deleting, and not have a way back is a major miss.

 

@adam deltinger 

best response confirmed by ThereseSolimeno (Microsoft)
Solution
Yeah, it’s a missing feature for sure but I’m sure it’s coming! Please go vote here:

https://planner.uservoice.com/forums/330525-microsoft-planner-feedback-forum/suggestions/16060894-ad...

Adam
We had a glitch where Teams dialogue box popped up indicating unable to load or connect and when our admin refreshed the entire project task with all history was deleted...this is a huge problem. It's already a problem if a human deletes a project accidentally, a totally different animal when the "teams" software glitches and the resulting outcome deletes user data. This undelete should not be considered a feature. It should be considered as part of the framework.
Btw, the planner.uservoice.com is no longer available. I guess we have to use feedback hub