SOLVED

Cant't access external Teams channel

Copper Contributor

Hi,

I can't find a straightforward answer for my question related to external Teams access.

I'm a Project Manager engaged with multiple clients simultaneously. My organization has Teams and we frequently communicate internally via chat/video calls. 
My clients also use Teams and we would like to set up mutual channels that everyone can access without switching profiles. This seems impossible.
I want to add the external Teams channels to my Teams Teams view, where I have all my internal channels as well. I want to use one account to access everything.

Now I have to click on my profile pic to access the drop-down menu and select which guest account I want to access in order to access that specific Teams channel. I then need to authenticate myself using some passkey via phone or email and only then can I access the channel. But now I don’t have access to my internal channel/contacts, nor any other external content either. I need to switch profile again. And around we go…

Obviously, this is wrong, and I am doing something really stupid here, and I need your guidance please.

Best Regards,

Andreas

5 Replies
Hello, you're gonna love Teams Connect going GA in November because it will do exactly what you're asking for https://www.microsoft.com/en-ww/microsoft-365/roadmap?filters=&searchterms=70766

It's not optimal using multiple accounts right now, but that could be changed in the near future as they've already added the ability to add an additional account (being personal). Until then your best way of working is probably using the desktop app and a browser at the same time with different tenants as a workaround.