Attendees in Lobby Hearing Each Other while waiting

Copper Contributor

I am a teacher at an elementary school and have had a few teachers notice something interesting happening in their Lobby. While they are working with small groups of students in their main meeting, they have the rest of their class waiting in the lobby to be admitted. 

Students are now back in the building, and they follow this same procedure. When waiting in the lobby, the teachers have noticed that their students can hear each other - talking, using digital resources, background noise at home, etc. The teacher in the meeting cannot hear this and only learned about it from the student perspective now that they are in person! We understand they can chat, but this is audio. 

https://photos.app.goo.gl/9nqH11BkaQw1V5Uc6

Teachers are concerned about safety. Is there a setting we are missing? Or something to adjust on their end to prevent this from happening? They have made new links and it continues. Any help is appreciated!

13 Replies

@tdwachur Hello, when being stuck in the lobby there's nothing more to it than wait to be admitted. If you're not being admitted you will be dropped from the lobby (the official docs says 15 min, but I've heard someone in the community actually testing this saying 30 min). Anyway, you cannot hear or communicate while in the lobby. That's one of the main purpose.

If I should guess though, your org. hasn't really worked through all the available policies in Teams so perhaps the students are creating meetings on the side, calls and chatting as there are no boundaries set up.

I would like to recommend this article for configuring "safe learning" and note the tabs!
For administrators - For educators - Policy quick guide

Keeping students safe while using Teams for distance learning (microsoft.com)