Stream won't encode higher than 360p. Original is 1080. It's been 5 days.

Copper Contributor

I was waiting for the higher resolution quality to become available but its been 5 days and nothing. Can I check anywhere to see if there is a problem and maybe diagnose? Anyone have any ideas?

7 Replies

@benj4786 

I feel your pain! - I'd been keen to know the answer myself - I've been using Stream for a couple of months now - most if not all of my videos are 1080p - yet the time it takes for the 1080p version to become available seems entirely random - in some cases its within 10-20 minutes, other times its days or even weeks! In my experience, there doesn't seem to be any correlation between video length and the time it takes for the hi-resolution versions of the video to become available - I've sometimes observed 1080p versions of >1hr video sessions become available quicker than some of my <10min sessions. I've even tried 'replacing' the original video with a copy of itself just to see if I can kickstart the process but it doesn't seem to have any predictable effect. The only general pattern I've found is that when I record a video externally and upload it to Stream, the 1080p version *usually* becomes available faster than if I'd recorded video directly within another Microsoft tool such as Teams - which integrates directly with Stream. Bizarre!

@benj4786 Sure enough, on day 6, all other resolution levels were available, including full 1080p. I wonder if there's a way to speed this up? Any tips for encoding for faster processing?

Likewise, 1080p versions of a couple more of my video sessions have now become available since my last post - but there are still others that currently max out at 720p (or less). No idea if there is some way to speed up the transcoding process - I guess if I knew, I'd already be doing it :xd:

@Shane-K