SOLVED

Stream videos require sign in using Teams desktop app

Copper Contributor

Everything was working fine until about a week ago.  We have stream videos on a sharepoint page.  We then have the sharepoint page added to a team in MS Teams.

Everything works fine if using Teams in the browswer, the videos play and all the links work just fine.

However, on the MS Teams desktop app the same page doesn't work.  All the links to stream videos tell us we have to sign in to see the content.  

I am a global admin and have access to all videos and links and it is still a problem.  But again everything works perfect in the Teams in the browswer.

It is like it is not passing the authentication of the person logged in the desktop app through to Stream to show the videos.  I have done research and it appears others have had this issue in 2017 and in 2020(usually teachers) but no one has ever mentioned they resolved it. 

I am sure people have the correct security for it and we can go to sharepoint and view the videos just fine.  Also, if we add the video to the stream app in the teams desktop it works.   It appears to be only when the stream videos are on a sharepoint page and that page has been added to the team that the desktop app has a problem.

Strangely this also seemed to coincide close to the announcement that Microsoft Stream will soon be called Microsoft Stream Classic as they are changing the way stream works all together over the next year.

9 Replies

@Glenn_ScottI have found with authentication issues like this in the desktop app, that problem is usually solved by having the user take the following two steps. If number 1 doesn't work, try number 2.

1. Sign out of Teams completely (Click on profile pic/initials in top right>Sign out) then quit Teams and restart the app and sign-in again.