SOLVED

Writing rules for legacy server feeds

Copper Contributor

Hi, I'm new to Sentinel with my only real experience being the MS Sentinel Ninja training.

I have a list of events from an existing SIEM that I need to replicate in Sentinel using data coming from on-premise MS AD servers.

When I went to write my first rule I found most of template queries seem to be Azure AD based queries.

Could someone please point me to (or show me) examples of writing queries for on-premise data feeds to meet the following sample of requirements:

REQ-006

Send a weekly email containing all occurrences of Windows event 1102 in last 1 week

Type: Event: Windows audit log cleared (event 1102)

REQ-010 Send an hourly email containing all occurrences of changes to “Domain Admins” and “G_Client Support Staff” AD groups

Type: AD group change: Domain Admins

REQ-017 Upon occurrence of proxy log URLS matching AusCert IoC list, an email must be sent

Type: IoC Matching: URL (from Proxy logs) matches AusCert IoC list

Thanks in anticipation

6 Replies
Some of these rules are already in the analytics templates.
Have you looked into the rules with data 'security events'?
That's what you need here

@Thijs Lecomte 

Hi there and thanks for the reply.
Yes I have looked through the templates and I made some reasonable progress over the weekend, but also hit a lot of challenges on the way!
Not the least of which is that the preview release won't allow alert schedules of more than one day so I'm still trying to figure out how to do the once a week and once a month reports.
e.g. 

AutomationMan_0-1598223223910.jpeg

Other challenges include the need to set up Logic Apps and create a playbook just to send a response email and in doing that, having to resolve automation issues composing and sending the email.  

I've yet to work through the integration of threat feeds so I can use the TI_rules to do the IoC matching requirements although I have found the page describing that process.