Microsoft Secure Tech Accelerator
Apr 03 2024, 07:00 AM - 11:00 AM (PDT)
Microsoft Tech Community

Trying to understand "Anomalous sign-in location by user account and authenticating application"

Copper Contributor

Im pretty new to Azure sentinel so it might be obvious.

I got this incident in our Sentinel setup but i cant seem to understand what its acutally telling me.

When i look up the events for the incidents, i cant see the actually locations, but only the location count.

So 

how can i see the location for the logins to determine whether or not its the actually user who just logged in from a new location?
Is it succesfull logins or just attempt?

Hope someone can clarify this for me.

8 Replies

@mircasa 

You can use the Query

SigninLogs
| where TimeGenerated > ago(14d)
| where UserPrincipalName == "...."
| extend locationString = strcat(tostring(LocationDetails["countryOrRegion"]), "/", tostring(LocationDetails["state"]), "/", tostring(LocationDetails["city"]), ";")
summarize count() by locationString

@Ofer_Shezaf 

Thanks for the answer.

This gave a good view of the sign-ins.

But are these successfull sign-ins or does it also count the failed sign-ins?

@mircasa 

It is all sign ins because I kept to the data as analyzed by the rule itself. If you want to investigqate Signins with more flexiblity, you can use the Signins workbook which is very useful. You can learn more about this workbook (as well as the sign-in mapping workbook) in the "Day in a SOC analyst life" webinar (see module 12 of https://aka.ms/sentinelninjatraining)

@Ofer_Shezaf 

Okay, i will look into that.

Im just trying to understand why the incident is actually being created and what the response should be to it.

Thanks for the help