Microsoft Secure Tech Accelerator
Apr 03 2024, 07:00 AM - 11:00 AM (PDT)
Microsoft Tech Community

Bug - DeviceImageLoadEvents doesn't collect all DLL Load Events with Proof of Concept C++ code

Copper Contributor

Hi, I am a security researcher and was hoping to use DeviceImageLoadEvents to threat hunt for various suspicious DLL load events given other conditions.

In order to test if my rule would fire, I created a short C++ program with mingw/MSYS2 on windows that loads ws2_32.dll with LoadLibrary, starts Winsock 2.2 with WSAStartup, and finally unloads Winsock with WSACleanup.  The DLL handle is freed.  Dynamic loading is used with function pointers.

Picture of the code is below because this app wouldn't let me paste it:

code_ws2_32_test.png

The output of the program is as follows, showing the DLL successfully loads and function addresses acquired:

[*] Winsock 2 Loaded
[*] DLL Function addresses acquired
[*] WSAStartup succeeded
[*] WSACleanup succeeded

However, the following query does not show the DLL event above, and only lists 3 other random ones that are unrelated.  Note that I waited several hours and the event still never showed up so it isn't a timing issue.

DeviceImageLoadEvents
| where DeviceName =="mycomputer" and FileName=="ws2_32.dll"

Is this a bug/known issue?  Maybe I am just doing something silly wrong or not understanding, but if this is glitch it is a security problem because these logs can't be depended on for alerting data/threat hunting rules..

Please advise

3 Replies
Is your "mycomputer" covered by Defender for Endpoint, I assume it is? I suspect you tried a search to find this as well (see suggestion below)? Are there later events from your computer that show up in the table?

DeviceImageLoadEvents
| search "ws2_32.dll"
| limit 5

@Clive_Watson thanks for the reply