Cannot install software apps from Company Portal

Brass Contributor

Hello - I am new to Intune.  I am setting up new company computers with InTune and MDM so i can manage them, expecially applications.

I have Azure AD Joined the computers (set as Corporate owned) in Intune and they sync well in endpoint manager.

If I set the primary user to my Admin account, when I log in, I can install applications thru the Company Portal.

Then when I assign one of my users as the primary user, and they try to install apps thru the Company Portal, they cannot.  They can see the apps, they try to install but it gets stuck at Download Pending, then - "it's taking too long - please retry".

Has anyone seen this ?  Any hints what I can try to fix this ?  I looked the certificates, when logged in with a User's account, and they don't seem to have any Intune certificates (?) however, the computer is able to sync with End point manager...

Any help is greatly appreciated (been struggling with this for days now...)
Dave

18 Replies
Also, all users have E5 license, so i don't think it is a licensing issue

Hi @daved3 , Please try to change the intent or any one app as "Required" and then assign it to the group and check the status. Also, check the intune extension logs. 

Br/
Somesh

When you say apps which type do you mean? LOB, or Win32, or Built-in apps (like O365 or PowerBI).

Make sure apps are configured to run as System instead of logged on User. Knowing what types apps your deploying will help narrow down the issue.

@daved3 

Hi... the certificates are stored in the computer certificate store... not in the user his certificate store

Are you experiencing this with all apps or only one? Lob or win32app apps?

If win32 app, could you check out at which step it stops working? does the download file even gets created? 

Troubleshooting failed Intune Win32 Apps installation | IME (call4cloud.nl)

The same goes for lob apps... :)