Bitlocker Failing to encrypt Error: -2016346112 (No Error Code)

Brass Contributor

I'm just learning Intune and I'm setting up everything for the first time. I setup BitLocker I have my settings below. On my Virtual machine that I connected with Autopilot, Bitlocker encrypted the drive just fine (even though I get the same error code above).  What I mean is, I can look in the Virtual Machine and it shows the drive is encrypted fine.

For my desktop/Physical machine, however, it is not encrypted and I get the same error. If I go into the Device information and click on the properties all the settings are successful except for "Encrypt Devices" and that has a state details of: -2016346112 (No Error Code) If I click on that line the sidebar comes out and it says error code: 0x87d10000

Searching on the Internet reveals ZERO answers. I'm not sure what is going on here. Can anyone shed some light on this?

Edit: I should mention my desktop has two Hard Drives. I don't know if that matters.

Edit 2: I am running TPM 2.0 it is a new dell mfg'd in December.

17 Replies
The Intune portal doesn't give you the feedback you need.
Have you searched in the Event Viewer within the 'Bitlocker' events to check for certain errors?

@Thijs Lecomte I did search on the Application and Security logs and found nothing.  Under the "Applications and Services Logs" -> Microsoft -> Windows ->Bitlocker-API and Bitlocker-DrivePreperationTool there is nothing. The latter is completely blank and the former has only informational logs saying this:

The following DMA (Direct Memory Access) capable devices are not declared as protected from external access, which can block security features such as BitLocker automatic device encryption:

ISA Bridge:
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0697 (Intel(R) LPC Controller (W480) - 0697)

PCI-to-PCI Bridge:
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_1901 (Intel(R) PCIe Controller (x16) - 1901)

So, Did I just find something? Is that my issue?