Multiple Choice answers with branching per answer

Copper Contributor

Hello,  I am new to the MS Forms platform but so far find it to be user friendly.  The challenge I am having now thought is determining if the system allows for branching per answer when the question is multiple choice?  In the multiple choice question below, I would like to be able to indicate if the person selects "None" then they automatically move to the next question otherwise they can select multiple answers.  Is there a way to do this within Forms?

BeckyLC_0-1585857922734.png

Thank you for your guidance.

35 Replies

@BeckyLC  I would like to know if this is possible too. Did you ever get an answer?

@themightymrp it is not possible to have branching based on answers selected in a multiple choice question. You can only have branching from the question itself, whichever options are selected.

Rob
Los Gallardos
Microsoft Power Automate Community Super User

@BeckyLC unfortunately this feature is unavilable in MS Forms. 

I do hope they implement this in the near future. 

@kirstenmiller I suspect this will never be implemented because the branching would have to take account of every possible combination of checkboxes selected.

Rob
Los Gallardos

@RobElliott that's unfortunate as theres plenty of competitor programs that have that feature. 

@kirstenmiller  I can't even get my brain round the logic of how that would work! Suppose you had 8 choices in your multi-select form, if a user checked 1,3 and 5 where would it branch to? If another user selected 1,6 and 7 where would that branch to? What if a user checked all 8 choices where would that branch to? And so on. With 8 choices there are 40,320 possible branching combinations. I cannot see how Microsoft could possibly implement that in Forms. What are the competitor applications you mentioned that allow this branching from multi-select choices and how do they handle such a large number of potential branches?

Rob
Los Gallardos