Need some resources to help me with very SMB type questions about Conditional Access.

Copper Contributor

Helping a company that has just upgraded some of it's core users from Business Standard to Business Premium. Half of the team are part timers that are on Business Basic licenses. I'm a Defender for M365 noob trying to get my head around Conditional Access but all the guides I've found tend to concentrate on enterprise scenarios where most people are in an office on corporate-owned devices.  The business is in serviced offices so don't have its own network, therefore, all the on-prem stuff is irrelevant. 

Does anyone know of any resources on Defender for M365 that focuses on small business/Business Premium licenses?

Here's the situation we're in.
The full-time staff have Business Premium licenses. Most are on company-owned devices but we've allowed a couple of them to use their Macs (bosses will be bosses). We also want to allow full-time staff to use their personal PCs (Windows or Mac) for emails and Teams. Not sure but there's a chance one or two of them might be on Windows Home devices so that wrinkle may need to be dealt with. 
We also have a lot of part-timers, interns, contractors, board members, and other people with company email addresses on Business Basic Accounts. These people just need access to emails and maybe Teams.  If you imagine them as being students in an education scenario, that would be closer to the mark in terms of access.

I've got the job of making this as secure as possible without significantly messing with the workflow. I thought it being a small company it would be an easy project to get my teeth into Defender for M365 but it seems there are more wrinkles than cloth here. 

I've been looking at Conditional Access but it seems to be very 'user' based.

What I want to do is the following.