SOLVED

Filtering OUs/Users

Brass Contributor

Hello,

I am a newbie in the world of MDI and on the project i've just joined the end client has a requirement to protect a group of sensitive users housed in an OU in a child domain.  There is a transitive trust relationship between the parent and child domain.

Is it possible to filter this group of users from data uploads to the cloud service.  So far my thoughts are not applying read permission to this OU for the Service Account running the sensor?

Thanks for any help!

Rob

9 Replies
No, while you might be able to block MDI from syncing those users directly from AD,
you can't stop it from capturing it's traffic, the sensor might still see those samNames, Display names etc, only it won't be able to fully resolve them to the AD entity. this will heart detection, but won't keep those entities completely anonymized.
That is the reason for this? what is the exact risk they are trying to overcome ?
How does it makes sense to limit detection on some users? won't that make them a goldmine for adversaries ?
Its related to a particular country that doesn't allow its data to be transferred out of the country
There is no official support for such scoping.
Having said that, if indeed the DCs in this country are not communicating in the network level with entities outside the country, then blocking the entities in AD and not installing sensors on those DCs in this country will likely (never tested or verified) cloak them (and any adversary that will operate in this country) , but that's a big "IF" on the no outside communication.
We will be running a POC so it will be useful to see what happens without a sensor being installed on that Child Domain. Clearly it would be reducing the effectiveness of the product if a whole DC was excluded from monitoring so the client would have to mitigate that risk!
Hi Eli,
Having done some extensive testing for the client i can report on the following observations: