Sharepoint Error: This username may be incorrect for Guest User

Copper Contributor

Hi all,

I am a Sharepoint and O365 admin (not super admin) for my organization.

For all our sites the current External sharing setting is: "New and existing guests - Guests must use sign in or provide a verification code".

Whenever I want to share a site with an external user, I create a guest account on Azure, add them to the Sharepoint group, and they can navigate normally.

There is one site created for this specific business partner of ours, let's call them P. There is one user guest1@P.com that is able upload, edit, etc. normally on our site since April-August 2021. But recently, they have been receiving the error:

This username may be incorrect. Make sure you typed it correctly. Otherwise, contact your admin

We checked on our Azure directory, and the guest username invited is still the same, we did not make any changes to any setting. Other external sites and guest users are still working normally.

We tried incognito, clear cookies, different browser.

Our local O365 provider IT support insisted that we have to open the External sharing setting to "Anyone - Users and share files and folders using links that don't require sign-in", and explained that Microsoft is changing their policy so guest1@P.com error was the result of that.

I'm not satisfied with their answer since all our other sites with the guest setting are still working, and we certainly do not want our Sharepoint links to be public. Any other suggestion to the solution will be appreciated. Can anyone please share the notice of this policy change if possible?

7 Replies