Outlook for windows won't connect to outlook server, keeps asking password

Copper Contributor

Hi there.

I am experiencing the following extremely frustrating problem for the last 10 days or so. I have an Office 365 Family subscription and been using an outlook personalized email (domain-at-domain.com) for about a year or so, without any problems. My mail client is Outlook for Windows both on my laptop and my work PC and I am also using the Outlook app for my android devices (Mobile and Tablet).

Things were working flawlessly for more than a year and all of a sudden, last week, Outlook (both on my PC and my laptop) started repeatedly asking for my password for using the outlook SMTP server, although I never changed my password. After hitting OK a few times, the message stopped popping up, only to appear again randomly throughout the day.

Since 3-4 days ago, the message stopped appearing for the SMTP server, but started appearing for the outlook.office365.com server (screenshot 1).

1.png

I tried everything,  cleared all passwords from Windows Credential manager, removed the email account from outlook and created it again (using IMAP, since auto configuration never worked neither now not in the past), used app password for 2FA instead of my normal Outlook/Microsoft password, nothing worked. I installed Thunderbird and setup the outlook email there, the problem still persisted (screenshot 2).

2.png

Weird thing is, after hitting OK 2-3 times, both programs (Outlook for Windows and Thunderbird) finally connect to the server and sync my emails, meaning the username and password combo is not wrong !! Also, no problem whatsoever in the Outlook app for Android on my mobile or tablet.