Sep 14 2020
- last edited on
Feb 01 2023
I have a SharePoint site (let's call it site A) that we are going to delete but we have 2 pages on that site that need to be moved to a different site (let's call it site B). Those pages are instrumental for 2 other processes and both have unique permissions and document libraries that were all created under the Site A settings.
I'm assuming when we actually delete the Site A, we lose those pages, the document libraries and permission groups since they were created under that site.
My questions are:
Sep 14 2020 07:06 AM
Maybe this information will help you a little.
I would be happy to know if I could help.
I know I don't know anything (Socrates)
Sep 15 2020 07:42 AM
Yes, you are correct in that when you delete a site you delete all of the associated pages. They will go to a recycle bin accessible by your SharePoint administrators and be available for resurrection for 30 days.
Unfortunately, copy and paste are not available options in SharePoint - for pages, libraries or permissions.
It will all be a manual process of creating the appropriate pages and Document Libraries on Site B, then moving the background files / resources and adding links to the new pages in Site B.
When it comes to assigning permissions, if you have AD (Active Directory) groups or single-layer PDLs set up, you can use those for granting permissions to groups of users. Otherwise, it's a manual effort.
Sep 23 2021 02:34 PM