Mix tools in PowerPoint 2016

Copper Contributor

Hi,

I have been using Office Mix 2016 for a few years to do tutorials for the teachers I work with.  Our county updated to 2016 around the holidays. They told us that Microsoft was putting all the tools for MIX in the tools for PowerPoint 2016, so we no longer needed to use OfficeMix.  So I use the tools from mix from the PPTx Ribbons. However, when I export my presentation as a mp4, all of my interactive ability goes away, unlike when I uploaded my presentations to Mix.office.com.  Do we still need Mix?

13 Replies
You have to Upload to Mix for it to have Mix functionality...otherwise, it's just a video

Hi Todd, Thank you for your response.  I hope the rumors we've heard about Mix.com going away are false.  The recent venture is that I'm using version 17.??? in PowerPoint/office mix.  I have used the Morph transition and Zoom tool in my presentation. I uploaded it to mix.office.com. However, when I play the presentation, the Morph and Zoom have gone away.  Any ideas? The voice over/ink, and add-ins work, even the WebViewer add-in works. 

Hi Victoria - I haven't read anything about Office Mix going away (is that what you were saying when you said mix.com?)

Only a subset of animations/transitions work in Office Mix.  You can find a list here:

http://www.mixforteachers.com/choose-the-right-animations-and-transitions.html'

I'm using a Insider Preview version of PowerPoint 2016 and it now has a new "Recording" tab that has many of the features of the "Mix" tab except of course "Upload to Office Mix". If this is going to be included, what is the future of the mix.office.com site and how can we get the analytics?

Hi,

Because some items like... 

• inserting a video
  • inserting a screenshot
  • screen recording