SOLVED

Sharepoint list format whole row using indexOf

Copper Contributor

Hoping this will be a simple question for someone who knows JSON. I'm new to JSON and have found two examples of conditional formatting I'm trying unpick to colour a whole row on a sharepoint list using indexOf to search for the string "Holiday". Our training calendar (sharepoint list) can include "School holidays", "Bank holidays", "Half term holidays" etc in the field 'Title'.

Changing the column colour works for the title field alone with the following indexOf example (using if)

{
  "$schema": "https://developer.microsoft.com/json-schemas/sp/column-formatting.schema.json",
  "elmType": "div",
  "txtContent": "@currentField",
  "attributes": {
    "class": "=if(indexOf(@currentField,'oliday') != -1, 'sp-css-backgroundColor-BgCornflowerBlue sp-field-fontSizeSmall sp-css-color-CornflowerBlueFont','')"
  }
}

And, changing the whole row background colour works with the following which does not use indexOf (using operators?)

{
  "$schema": "https://developer.microsoft.com/json-schemas/sp/v2/row-formatting.schema.json",
  "additionalRowClass": {
    "operator": ":",
    "operands": [
      {
        "operator": "==",
        "operands": [
          "[$Training_x0020_Crs_x0020_Ttl]",
          "Holiday"
        ]
      },
      "sp-css-backgroundColor-BgCornflowerBlue sp-field-fontSizeSmall sp-css-color-CornflowerBlueFont",
      ""
    ]
  }
}

To me the logic in both examples looks to be achieved in slightly different ways and I've hit a wall trying to combine the code, does anyone know how to use indexOf condition to detect 'holiday' to conditionally format the whole row?

(In the code above it looks like sharepoint has kept 'Training Crs Ttl' as a reference to the field now renamed to Title but I don't think this has a bearing on the code)

Many thanks

Chris

3 Replies
best response confirmed by Chris_Boylan (Copper Contributor)
Solution

@Chris_Boylan