Unable to get groups with POSH

Silver Contributor

I am getting the following error. Can someone please tell me what I'm doing wrong? I'm a Global admin in the tenant.

Connect-PnPMicrosoftGraph -Scopes "Group.ReadWrite.All","User.Read.All"

PS C:\Scripts> Get-PnPUnifiedGroup
Get-PnPUnifiedGroup : Exception of type 'Microsoft.Graph.ServiceException' was thrown.
At line:1 char:1
+ Get-PnPUnifiedGroup
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo          : NotSpecified: (:) [Get-PnPUnifiedGroup], ServiceException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : Microsoft.Graph.ServiceException,SharePointPnP.PowerShell.Commands.Graph.GetUnifiedGroup

13 Replies
Does the std Get-UnifiedGroup powershell cmdlets work?
yes, that works correctly.

adding @Vesa Juvonen 

For what it is worth, I literally just installed PNP PowerShell yesterday to start playing with it, copied and pasted your code and it ran just fine. So the syntax is at least right.

ok, thanks, I just tried again and got the same error.

BTW, PNP PowerShell is fantastic. @Erwin van Hunen has done an amazing job

Hi Dean,

I just tried here but I get no errors. If you execute the cmdlet as said, and if you still receive the error, can you enter 

$error[0].Exception.StackTrace

and post that?

@Erwin van Hunen thanks for the suggestion. This is what I get. I don't understand what this means, does it provide you any clues?

PS C:\> $error[0].Exception.StackTrace
   at Microsoft.Graph.HttpProvider.<SendAsync>d__19.MoveNext()
--- End of stack trace from previous location where exception was thrown ---
   at System.Runtime.CompilerServices.TaskAwaiter.ThrowForNonSuccess(Task task)
   at System.Runtime.CompilerServices.TaskAwaiter.HandleNonSuccessAndDebuggerNotification(Task task)
   at Microsoft.Graph.BaseRequest.<SendRequestAsync>d__34.MoveNext()
   at System.Runtime.CompilerServices.TaskAwaiter.HandleNonSuccessAndDebuggerNotification(Task task)
   at Microsoft.Graph.BaseRequest.<SendAsync>d__32`1.MoveNext()