SharePoint Site deleted but Group still exists - prevents new site of same name

%3CLINGO-SUB%20id%3D%22lingo-sub-1416741%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3ESharePoint%20Site%20deleted%20but%20Group%20still%20exists%20-%20prevents%20new%20site%20of%20same%20name%3C%2FLINGO-SUB%3E%3CLINGO-BODY%20id%3D%22lingo-body-1416741%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CP%3EHi%2C%3C%2FP%3E%3COL%3E%3CLI%3EI%20recently%20created%20a%20SharePoint%20Team%20site%20and%20added%20some%20members%3C%2FLI%3E%3CLI%3EI%20then%20confused%20myself%20and%20thought%20I%20didn't%20need%20it%2C%20so%20deleted%20it%20again.%3C%2FLI%3E%3CLI%3EI%20quickly%20realised%20my%20mistake%20and%20wanted%20to%20recreate%20the%20site.%3C%2FLI%3E%3C%2FOL%3E%3CP%3ENow%20I%20cannot%20recreate%20the%20site%20because%20SharePoint%20informs%20me%20that%20there%20is%20already%20a%20group%20with%20that%20name.%20So%20it%20seems%20like%20my%20step%202%20resulted%20in%20a%20deleted%20site%20but%20not%20a%20deleted%20group.%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EI%20would%20like%20to%20either%20create%20a%20site%2C%20with%20associated%20group%2C%20with%20the%20same%20name%20as%20the%20initial%20one%3B%20or%20restore%20the%20initial%20site.%20I%20am%20not%20an%20admin.%20Is%20this%20possible%3F%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3E%26nbsp%3B%3C%2FP%3E%3CP%3EThanks%2C%20T%3C%2FP%3E%3C%2FLINGO-BODY%3E%3CLINGO-LABS%20id%3D%22lingo-labs-1416741%22%20slang%3D%22en-US%22%3E%3CLINGO-LABEL%3EOffice%20365%20Groups%3C%2FLINGO-LABEL%3E%3C%2FLINGO-LABS%3E
Highlighted
Occasional Visitor

Hi,

  1. I recently created a SharePoint Team site and added some members
  2. I then confused myself and thought I didn't need it, so deleted it again.
  3. I quickly realised my mistake and wanted to recreate the site.

Now I cannot recreate the site because SharePoint informs me "Another group with the same alias already exists.". So it seems like my step 2 resulted in deleting the site but not deleting the related group.

 

I would like to either create a site, with associated group, with the same name as the initial one; or restore the initial site. I am not an admin. Is this possible?

 

Thanks, T

1 Reply
Highlighted
Yes, it is possible to restore. Reach out to your admin who should know what to do!