Microsoft Secure Tech Accelerator
Apr 03 2024, 07:00 AM - 11:00 AM (PDT)
Microsoft Tech Community
SOLVED

Kusto Query to extract the number of exploitable vulnerabilities

Iron Contributor

Hi,

I need to build up a Kusto Query to extract the total number of Exploitable Vulnerabilities. The vulnerabilities are on the DeviceTvmSoftwareVulnerabilities table with their CVEID and the Exploitable vulnerabilities are on the DeviceTvmSoftwareVulnerabilitiesKB table where we have a field named "IsExploitAvailable".
I need to join the results of these 2 tables by the CVEID and "IsExploitAvailable" equals to 1, and then count, but I'm kind of new to Kusto Query.
Can anyone guide me on how to build a query like this?

Thanks

7 Replies
Just based on your description:

DeviceTvmSoftwareVulnerabilitiesKB
| join (DeviceTvmSoftwareVulnerabilities) on CveId
| where IsExploitAvailable == "1"
| count

@Rod_Trent 

Hi,

Thanks, that was about what I need, but reversing the tables:

DeviceTvmSoftwareVulnerabilities
| join (DeviceTvmSoftwareVulnerabilitiesKB) on CveId
| where IsExploitAvailable == "1"
| count

One other question, just to give a next step. The goal is to use this programatically to extract this value into a set of values for reporting. For that I have a Powershell to run this queries and extract the values to be used on a report. But while some other queries are working fine, this one is outputing "Bad Request" error.

My script is more or less this (the part that matters for the case):

$vulnUrl = '{ "query": "DeviceTvmSoftwareVulnerabilities | join (DeviceTvmSoftwareVulnerabilitiesKB) on CveId | where IsExploitable == "1" | count" }'
$vulnUrlUri = "https://graph.microsoft.com/beta/security/runHuntingQuery"
$vulnResponse = Invoke-WebRequest -Method Post -Uri $vulnUrlUri -Body $vulnUrl -Headers $headers -ErrorAction Stop

And the error is: Invoke-WebRequest : The remote server returned an error: (400) Bad Request.

But for example, this ones work fine: