Exchange/Active Directory split permission experience

Copper Contributor

Hello @All, I have a question about Exchange Server Split permission model for active directory. Overview: 

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd638106%28v=exchg.150%29.aspx?f=255&MSPPError=-214721739...

After you enable Active Directory split permissions, the following cmdlets are no longer available:

New-Mailbox

New-MailContact

New-MailUser

New-RemoteMailbox

Remove-Mailbox

Remove-MailContact

Remove-MailUser

Remove-RemoteMailbox

After you enable Active Directory split permissions, the following cmdlets are accessible but you cannot use them to create distribution groups or modify distribution group membership:

Add-DistributionGroupMember

New-DistributionGroup

Remove-DistributionGroup

Remove-DistributionGroupMember

Update-DistributionGroupMember

I'm a consultant and my job is to help customers to migrate there exchange environment to the new exchange versions or to exchange online, but today we have to take care about security! When exchange is installed without split permission, the Exchange Trusted Subsystem group have very high active directory rights (like a domain admin).

Normaly we have to ecommend to enable active directory split permission, but I can not assess the impact. Does anyone have these expirience and can inform me about the impact?

Thanks Arne

4 Replies

Arne,

the impact is mostly about the process of managing Active Directory accounts and Exchange related attributes. In a split permission model accounts for user mailboxes, shared mailboxes, etc. are managed by the Active Directory team. Creating and deleting accounts is in the responsibility of the AD-Team.

The Exchange related attributes are still handled by the Exchange Trusted Subsystem. Enabling mailbox functionality is in the responsibility of the Exchange Team.

Cheers,
Thomas

Hi Thomas,
thanks for this answer.