Email Proxy (Alias) Addresses Suddenly Capped at 200?

Copper Contributor

Suddenly, aliases have been capped at 200 without any stated reason.

I have been using more than 200 aliases for 15 years because I assign a specific address to vendors to find out who sells my email address. I currently have 416 aliases. For what it's worth, I have started a support ticket but I'm wondering if anyone knows what prompted this unwelcome change?

14 Replies

Is your mailbox on an Exchange Server or Exchange Online. If Exchange Server, what version?

Office 365. Is this not the correct forum?

There's a lengthy thread about this on Answers: New limit on "proxy" addresses - unable to delete old proxy addresses or add new ones

I've pinged some MS guys on this, guess I should give them another poke.

I, too, commented on that thread with added emphasis. I'm just trying to get to the bottom of the actual reason this has suddenly been limited. It has created yet another issue I didn't need today.

Hello,

The number of proxy addresses was limited because of an AD limit that can be reached otherwise.

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/wiki/contents/articles/31919.active-directory-non-linked-multi-v...

Best regards!

I do not believe that article applies because (1) it describes the 2000 and 2003 versions of AD and (2) this change only occurred this month.

I know this because we migrated to O365 in December 2013 with accounts containing more than 300 aliases and without any such complaint. One account went over 400 earlier this year.

I log into the Exchange Admin Center almost daily and this "error" dialog only began appearing this week. There is no other conclusion I can draw except that an arbitrary, possibly accidental and certainly unwelcome policy change has occurred.

I am simply attempting to question this change as I do not believe the full impact was considered. I would like to petition for reconsideration.

Hello Jim,