Why isn't my vlookup working

Copper Contributor

SO i am so stuck. i have entered this VLOOKUP- VLOOKUP(A2,Sheet1!$A$2:$G$5200,5,FALSE) and nothing populates, whatsoever, I just see the formula in the cell. I don't know what's going on. this is probably so simple and i don't use Vlookup too often, but i feel like this hasn't happened before. If it means anything, i am using employee numbers as the lookup value and just trying to find their service years . I'm going crazy . please help! i need this done by tomorrow and I'm new at work .

Thanks a bunch! :)

7 Replies

@Detlef Lewin Its on my work laptop containing PII and im not sure if i can share. I know, im not being helpful. :( 

I'm not sure what you mean. Did you click the link "Google search"?

@Celi247 

You wrote:  i have entered this VLOOKUP-
VLOOKUP(A2,Sheet1!$A$2:$G$5200,5,FALSE)

And I see two potential issues for starters, above and beyond what @Detlef Lewin has already identified (via Google).

1. Any formula has to begin with the equals sign. Perhaps yours does in fact; but what you shared with us does not.
  2. The value you are looking up, A2, is also the first reference in the range where the lookup is being performed. That in itself is problematic. It should be something like

=VLOOKUP(A1,Sheet1!$A$2:$G$5200,5,FALSE)

Note: I've changed your first A2 to read A1, but it should be any other cell reference OTHER THAN a cell within the table itself. 

And presuming that column A contains Soc Sec No or an employee ID, whatever the reference value is should be that same type of data.

I've attached an example of VLOOKUP just to illustrate. You can change the value in the cell with the light green background, and there are several VLOOKUPs in the yellow cells that reference the table to the right.