SOLVED

VBA module code not working after save or cell edit - strange behavior

Copper Contributor

I'm very new to VBA so excuse my ignorance and know that any help is much appreciated.

I am trying to create a function (in insert>module) to sum based on cell color and then separately (in the sheet1 code) use "Sheets(1).Calculate" to force recalculation of the function on selection change event. What I thought was going to be a simple tutorial video of about 10 minutes has now turned into 6 hours of hell. The code seems to work at first, but after saving the sheet or making a change to any cell the code stops working and the cell using SumColor does not update unless I double click the cell and press enter.

Video I was following was "How to SUM Cells by Color in Excel (Get it to update automatically)" by Leila Gharani on YouTube.

First off, here's what I have:

(Insert>Module):

Option Explicit

Function SumColor(MatchColor As Range, sumRange As Range) As Double

Dim cell As Range
    Dim myColor As Long
    myColor = MatchColor.Cells(1, 1).Interior.Color
    For Each cell In sumRange
        If cell.Interior.Color = myColor Then
            SumColor = SumColor + cell.Value
        End If
    Next cell
    MsgBox "module"
End Function

and in (Sheet 1>View Code):

Sub Worksheet_SelectionChange(ByVal Target As Range)
Sheets(1).Calculate
Msgbox "sheet"
End Sub