SOLVED

VBA/Macro Code for checkboxes

Copper Contributor

Forgive me but I am new to VBA/Macro writing for Excel.
What I am trying to accomplish:  I would like to be able to select check boxes en masse in a column and set them to link with the cells they are in.

Sub LinkChecks()
i = 2
For Each cb In Selection
cb.LinkedCell = Cells(i, "B").Address
i = i + 1
Next cb
End Sub

Where I am stuck:  I have pieced together some code that I have pulled through reading through forum posts and am pretty close to accomplishing what I need.   Essentially I have it so I can select the check boxes and get them to link  to the proper cell if they are in the "B" Column.   I can tell that this is because

cb.LinkedCell = Cells(i, "B").Address

is there  a way to get  "B"  changed in a way where it can determine what Column my selection is  in  so I don't have to go in and adjust the Code  if my check boxes happen to fall in a different column.

Context if it helps:  I tend to write spreadsheets that will have check boxes in multiple columns and would like to easily and quickly link them to the cell they are in.  I am a little more familiar with how check boxes work on Google Sheets and this is a fairly large departure from how they function in Google Sheets.  Essentially I am trying to have multiple checklists contained on one sheet.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. 

5 Replies
best response confirmed by craboak (Copper Contributor)
Solution

@craboak 

You may simply try this...

Sub SetLinkedCells()
Dim cb As CheckBox

For Each cb In ActiveSheet.CheckBoxes
    cb.LinkedCell = cb.TopLeftCell.Address
Next cb

End Sub

@Subodh_Tiwari_sktneer 

I like that this doesn't require me to directly select the boxes.  Issue I am running into with this one is it is tying it to the cell above.  Example:  Checkbox in Cell B4 is hooked to cell B3 rather than B4. 

Is there a way to adjust for that?   If so this will be perfect!

@craboak