Utilizing Word and Excel For Estimating

Copper Contributor

I am a general contractor and we currently create all of our proposals in Excel.  The process is to first write a detailed Scope of Work (10-15 pages) in the workbook, input the unit costs of everything, then do the take-off and add the quantities.  Since starting this process a year ago it has helped tremendously for we do our estimating next to each line item which ensures that everything was accounted for.

I am having a few issues with utilizing Excel to write the Scope of Work.  In order to make the final proposal professional, there are colors, logos, grouping, etc. and other users keep "breaking" these items.  I'm trying to find a way that I could create the Scopes in Word and then create the estimates in Excel, but tie them together so that if one is updated, the other is and so we can also ensure every line item is covered.

Any suggestions?

3 Replies

@AZSkoz 

My first response is to go to Word's Mail Merge function for, at the very least, a cover page..because that's where you could have such things as logo, colors, key groupings and high level "bottom line" figures for major categories in your estimates. The backup and detailed sheets could be the Excel documents.

The Excel workbook with all its details can be used as the source for the Mail Merge document--so there'd be no problem with inconsistency, so long as you print them at the same time and make no changes in the backup details after printing the cover sheet (or vice versa). This would presume, ideally, that your Excel workbook is consistent enough from job to job that a master Mail Merge document could be created without a need to make changes.

For what it's worth, mail merge can be made to be very smart, with conditional sections--appearing some times, but not always, so that could handle the difference between types of projects, or sub-types.

@AZSkoz