SOLVED

Using IFBLANK with IF Formulas

Copper Contributor

Using Excel for Mac 16.52 and have an (IF this value, this formula, default formula) set up but am trying to use IFBLANK up front so it only generates a result when it's supposed to (when the cell before it has a date value).

IFBLANK was working fine until I added the variable formula component: =IF(ISBLANK(G28)," ",('Tracking Sheet'!$B$13*'Tracking Sheet'!$B$10))

Variable value formula works if I'm not using IFBLANK: =IF($C26="Standard",('Tracking Sheet'!$B$13*'Tracking Sheet'!$B$10),('Tracking Sheet'!$F$13*'Tracking Sheet'!$F$10))

I can do one or the other - how do I do both. #StumpedInStLouis!

17 Replies

@kenmcd1 

Does this do what you want? If not, in what way?

=IF(G28="","",'Tracking Sheet'!$B$13*'Tracking Sheet'!$B$10)

@Hans Vogelaar Thanks, Hans! I'm no expert, but does that allow for a second conditional formula? What I need to do is create a conditional formula: If A1="Standard", perform this specific calculation but if A1="Full", perform the other specific calculation. Then, I need to wrap all that into an IFBLANK so that if F1 is blank, it does nothing but if F1 has a date value, it performs the above calculations based on the value of A1. Does that make sense?

best response confirmed by kenmcd1 (Copper Contributor)
Solution

@kenmcd1 

Yes:

=IF(F1="", "", IF(F1="Standard", ..., IF(F1="Full", ...)))

or

=IFS(F1="", "", F1="Standard", ..., F1="Full", ...)

Thanks, Hans! I'm stepping out but will try this next and respond here. Thank you!

Hans, that was it! Took a couple passes to get the syntax correct but it worked. Thanks for your help! Turns out it created a COUNTIF problem when I added the new category ("Full") but I'm trying to work that out using the same logic. :face_with_rolling_eyes:  No luck so far. Can I post back here if I have trouble with COUNTIF or should I start a new thread? @Hans Vogelaar 

@kenmcd1 

Feel free to post a reply in this discussion.