Understanding an INDIRECT Formula

Copper Contributor

Hello! I'm new to the company and I get a file that contains INDIRECT Formula which I can't understand about the logic. Could somebody assist me to look into it and explain it to me? 

=-SUMPRODUCT('Prod Plan'!B$3:B$78*INDIRECT("'Raw Mat'!$"&$A93&"$2:$"&$A93&"$77"))+IF($A$1="PRD",0,F93+SUMIFS(ME2N!$V:$V,ME2N!$T:$T,$B93,ME2N!$U:$U,G$2))

I can't understand what is the outcome of this formula will be. 

4 Replies

@JasonTan25 

INDIRECT("'Raw Mat'!$"&$A93&"$2:$"&$A93&"$77")) returns a range on the Raw Mat sheet in the column whose letter(s) have been entered in $A93 on the sheet with the formula.

For example, if $A93 contains the letter K, INDIRECT("'Raw Mat'!$"&$A93&"$2:$"&$A93&"$77")) is equivalent to INDIRECT("'Raw Mat'!$K$2:$K$77")), and that evaluates to the range 'Raw Mat'!$K$2:$K$77.

But if $A93 contains the letter Z, then INDIRECT("'Raw Mat'!$"&$A93&"$2:$"&$A93&"$77")) evaluates to 'Raw Mat'!$Z$2:$Z$77.

This range is combined with 'Prod Plan'!B$3:B$78 in SUMPRODUCT: the corresponding cells are multiplied, and the resulting products are summed.

@JasonTan25 

As a supplement to the specific explanation given by @Hans Vogelaar , here's a link to an on-line resource with a more generic description of INDIRECT. You might find that website, in general, to be useful when you come across functions unfamiliar to you.