sumproduct

Copper Contributor

I am a novice with Excel so seeking advice on the use of SUMPRODUCT.  From a summary table on a separate worksheet, I am seeking to refer to a table with data in columns A,B and F on worksheet CASH RECEIPTS (Column A - date range dd/mm/yy, Column B - categories and Column F - $ amounts.  For a particular month (in the formula, January as MONTH =1) I wish to sum the amounts for a particular category (in this example JUDGES EXPENSES.  This is the formula I have compiled:

= SUMPRODUCT((MONTH (CASH RECEIPTS!$A$4:$A$6) =1)*((CASH RECEIPTS!$B$4:$B$6)='Judges Expenses')*(CASH RECEIPTS!$F$4:$F$6))

However, the following error is generated which I do not understand or solves the problem if acted upon.  The message is: 

Not trying to type a formula?

When the first character is an equal (=) or minus (-) sign, Excel thinks it's a formula:

• you type:   =1+1, cell shows:   2

To get around this, type an apostrophe ( ' ) first:

• you type:   '=1+1, cell shows:   =1+1

10 Replies

pls see attached sample..

Hi Lorenzo

Thank you very much for your efforts on this, much appreciated.  In retrospect, I should have attached an example of the spreadsheet.  As the CASH PAYMENT and CASH RECEIPT sheets are completed, I was hoping that the PROFIT/LOSS sheet would automatically update with the total $amounts according to month and category.  Note that the category column is populated with the aid of a drop down menu.  Not sure if that complicates the issue.  If you could suggest a formula for one of the cells on the PROFIT/LOSS sheet then that would be a great help.  Regards Mark

pls find the sample attached.

hope you can make something out of this.

thanks..