Suggestions on how to remove duplicate user id/passwords/notes from different sources?

Brass Contributor

Hello. I have many outdated userids and passwords saved in a third party application called Bitwarden. I use this as a backup to Google Chrome. Both Google Chrome and Bitwarden all import and export passwords in .csv format.

Unfortunately, there's no built-in functionality in Bitwarden to remove duplicate userid/pw/notes combinations. Google doesn't have a feature to add notes to my userid/pw.

What I mean by *notes* is a separate custom field where you can add information whatever you want such as answers to your security questions like what is your favorite colour.

I'm really a noob when it comes to Excel (I mostly use Google sheets or Excel via Microsoft One Drive). What I was thinking is if I can create a spreadsheet and insert two different .csv files. One from Bitwarden and the other from Chrome.

Then somehow sort and filter out the duplicate userid/pws while giving priority to Bitwarden for just the notes but give Chrome priority for everything else like userid/pw and websites. I would then save that file as a .csv. Wipe out my Bitwarden passwords and import the csv with updated content.

Just to add. The Bitwarden file is what I need to be updated, it contains many more fields. The Chrome CSV file is rather basic. I'm attaching pics here. 

BitwardenBitwarden

ChromeChrome

The image link is here if the above doesn't show up well: https://imgur.com/a/vkUDvWC

Does anyone have any suggestions and examples how I can accomplish the above?
Much thanks!

4 Replies

@JustANoob 

If you have access to the UNIQUE function--requires the most recent version of Excel--you could use it to produce a list of the unique combos of userID and pw. Just combine the files from both of your current lists and get those unique combos.... then update that further, with your notes, and then export.