Splitting families into individuals excel formatting

Copper Contributor

Hi, I'm a newbie with excel. I am not having much luck finding a way to take an address list that is formatted with both spouses as a name, and change it to individuals. I Can split the names, text to columns no problem. However, I also have to duplicate it on the next row so that the list is formatted with individuals. here's the example. Im sure it's easy, im just a struggling newb. 

HAVE THIS   
FAMILY  NAMEMEMBER NAMEADDRESS 1CITYSTATEZIPPRIMARY/HOME PHONEEMAIL ADDRESS
DoeJohn and Jane2 Elm StLockwoodIN456789555-555-5555email address removed for privacy reasons ; email address removed for privacy reasons

NEED THIS   
FAMILY  NAMEMEMBER NAMEADDRESS 1CITYSTATEZIPPRIMARY/HOME PHONEEMAIL ADDRESS
DoeJohn2 Elm StLockwoodIN456789555-555-5555email address removed for privacy reasons
DoeJane2 Elm StLockwoodIN456789555-555-5555email address removed for privacy reasons

11 Replies

@jasonsheeley 

A possible solution could be Power Query if you can use this feature.

family name.JPG

@OliverScheurich 

can you elaborate? Appreciate the help.

@jasonsheeley 

If Power Query is available on your computer you can open the file that is attached to my previous post. Then you can enter data in the blue dynamic table. Then you can click in any cell of the green table, right-click with the mouse and refresh.

Ok i gave it a shot. The problem is these lists are usually emailed to me with already of over 300 contacts as couples. I just need to split it up

@jasonsheeley

Did you get the expected result? If so it should be possible to copy the 300+ contacts from the other file and paste them into the blue dynamic table. Then you can refresh the green table. In the attached file i've rearranged the layout of the tables. You can enter huge numbers of contacts in the blue table.

power query.JPG

@OliverScheurich