SOLVED

Slow Power Query

Copper Contributor

Hello,

I am new to Power Query. I have a sample file with 3 Power Queries. The query takes a considerably long time to load the data, irrespective of no. of rows in the table. I have less than 10 rows. 

Any help on why the slowness is much appreciated. I have attached the file

More Info: The queries are rather easy to read but I will explain them anyway.

1st Power query loads data from Table1, Removes certain columns, and Loads the remaining data into Table2 

2nd Power Query loads data from Table2, Removes certain columns, and Loads remaining data into Table3

3rd query does similar steps to the above.

I am not doing complex operations or transformations, yet the power query is slow.

PS :

I did check my system RAM and I have 8GB on a Windows 10 HP laptop.

I don't have any issues with loading other power queries so system slowness is ruled out. 

I tried other steps like "disabling change type", "Fast data load" etc but no help

5 Replies

@Suresh_Jayaraman Have looked at your queries and believe you omitted a few important steps in your description of what you are doing. After loading a table back to Excel, you manually expand it (adding columns with data and formulae) before querying it again. And that you do two more times. Not sure that this is "best practise". I suspect that this is causing your problem.

Then you also have all your queries set to refresh upon opening the file. That hung-up my Excel for quite a while. When I changed that setting, the file opened smoothly. Though, the queries still took long to open/review/edit.

best response confirmed by Suresh_Jayaraman (Copper Contributor)
Solution

@Suresh_Jayaraman 

In your file there are few thousands of links on external files which are in hidden name. On Refresh Excel tries to update them and it takes time. Using FindLink (manville.org.uk)  I delete all of them.

As an example