Slicers

Copper Contributor

I am new to using slicers and need heeeeelp. I have a basic table (not a pivot table). Currently have 6 column. It will be a shared file so users will be add rows and it will grow. I know I can filter each column from the header but would like to use slicers to filter multiple columns at the same time time to drill down to find certain data. Problem is, currently when I start drilling down I may end up with the desired data on just a few rows, which resizes my slicers to fit into those few rows or eliminates some slicers altogether. Is there a way to separate the slicer from the cells, so to speak. I can move them to another sheet and split the window but this will be shared and I can see having to fix it all the time. Hopefully I have asked the question to represent my issue.

Thanks so much for any help provided. I can add screen shots it it will help.

13 Replies

@DaleWilson 

I just want to make sure that you're aware not only of slicers but also of the recently introduced FILTER and other "Dynamic Array" functions.

From your description of what you're trying to do, I think it's entirely possible that you'd be able to accomplish it with FILTER. It allows you to use criteria from multiple columns as the basis for the filtering it does..... And you can do it on a separate sheet in the same workbook quite easily (thus creating a form of Dashboard, extracting data from the larger table based on current need).

Is the spreadsheet you have one you can share or does it contain lots of confidential info (if the latter, then it should be rendered anonymous before sharing)?

Here's a link to a YouTube video that explains and demonstrates the dynamic array functions, if you'd like to just pursue it on your own. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9I9DtFOVPIg