SOLVED

SINCRONYZING DATA ACROSS WORKBOOKS/WORKSHEETS

Copper Contributor

Sorry, but I'm a newbie looking for guidance, I want to learn. I have two workbooks. For now I figured out the first one and have it working well for my purposes. Very simple formulas to calculate time elapsed per trip and daily totals. Still copying and pasting from the source, but that's minimal. I build one worksheet per day, and start a new workbook every month, to avoid the massive number of tabs on the workbook. In every worksheet I monitor about 10 to 15 individual's times and the number of trips they run per day. The number of individuals fluctuates with their schedule, that's why I'm still copying and pasting the info from the source. 

To avoid having to go back to specific dates and manually adding information, I'm trying to build a second workbook (with one worksheet per individual) that would report back on a specific week or month, giving me a specific individual totals. I meddled with =IF(HLOOKUP), but wasn't able to set the parameters to look at every sheet from the first workbook, selecting one specific individual, and getting his totals for the week/month. For practice, I was able to link specific cells across the two workbooks and get them to synchronize data, but that's not enough. I need the 2nd workbook to get information from different cells, from all the worksheets on the 1st, on specific individuals, and placing it on each individuals own sheet.

Any guidance appreciated. Win 10 - Excel 2013.

4 Replies
Hi,

Yes this is possible. However, it would involved building a pretty complicated power query data model. You may want to reassess how the original source data is recorded. If it was all saved in one table (with one column for date) it would be easier to pull than many separate worksheets.

regards,
StoneKiwi